The Trouble With Being A Disciple

The Trouble With Being a Disciple

He must increase but I must decrease. (John 3:30)

John the Baptist, a man whom many prominent church folk considered a fanatic, was a vociferous, and uncompromising, individual. Not surprisingly, these uncomplimentary attributes as well as his other eccentricities would also render him a dangerous offshoot. He was a loose cannon, not only dangerous to himself, but to reasonable people all around. But far more ominous was the ever-increasing probability that John’s activities would do nothing, other than to invite increased scrutiny and perhaps hasten the onset of persecution against the church. Whatever the cost, this terrifying prospect had to be deferred for as long as possible, though it would be far more desirable if the threat could be entirely eliminated

He had been preaching for some time now, and had attracted a fair number of followers, some of who even considered themselves disciples—whatever

About ourfaithkeepers

I am a middle-aged individual with a family who grew up in a Christian tradition, and as a young person on into adulthood, have attempted to live up to these ideals and more often than not, missing the mark. It has not been for a lack of trying, but as I have come to understand, it had a lot to do with my , underlying motivations, and my understanding of the 'Christ' in the term "Christian." Over the past several years, I have through God's proactive grace, began an introspective process which is still in full swing. It is in the context of this God-initiated inward look that I have compiled these thoughts which I pray will be as enlightening to you as they have been to my own heart. My goal in sharing is to enlighten, uplift and to motivate an individual to take that inward look, which is the first step towards change, something which I am sure each honest individual senses a need for. Tucked away deep within the New Testament are two statements, both by the tireless Apostle to the world, Paul that have been for me over these past few years my hope and my compass through the darkest days of uncertainty and loss. It is my hope that they can also serve to fan your flame and light your way as they have mine. "For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of His good pleasure." Philippians 2:13 "Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away, behold all things are become new." 2 Corinthians 5:17
This entry was posted in Discipleship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

